Footlighters Scholarships

Each year, the MTW Footlighters award scholarships to local high school students.  Since the program’s inception over $120,000 in scholarships have been awarded to deserving students.  Many of our awarded students have attended premiere musical theatre programs across the country.  The scholarship is open to high school students in the local area.

The following is a list of some of our scholarships. 

Jan Ritschel Scholarship – In memory of Southern California’s preeminent voice teacher and musical director.

Ken and Dottie Reiner Scholarship – In honor of the founders of MTW’s Reiner Staged Reading Series and two true musical theatre aficionados.

John Bisom Scholarship – In memory of frequent Musical Theatre West performer and actor who was one of the kindest, most loving souls in Southern California musical theatre.

Don Knabe Scholarship – In honor of the great arts supporter and his time serving the community on the LA County Board of Supervisors.

Garman Family Scholarship – In honor of the parents of Musical Theatre West’s Executive Director, Paul Garman.

Dr. Frances Grover Scholarship – In memory of this exceptional woman and legendary philanthropist of the Arts in Long Beach.

Don Temple Family Scholarship – In honor of the self-made man and philanthropist.

Dramatic Allied Arts Guild Scholarship – To promote and advance the study of the dramatic fine arts and allied arts in the city of Long Beach, California.

James H. Ackerman Scholarship – In memory of a local lawyer who was a great supporter of the arts through the Evalyn M. Bauer Foundation.

We are proud to announce our 2019-2020 Season Scholarship Winners.